MCTS Overview

Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS) certifications are designed to validate your skills on the features and functionality of Microsoft technologies. You can show your depth of knowledge in one specific technology, earn multiple MCTS certifications to show breadth across different products, or build on the MCTS to earn a Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP) or Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD) certification.

Note MCTS certifications are no longer in development. However, your MCTS certification will remain valuable as long as companies are using the technology on which it certifies. Please visit the news and announcements page for more information about certifications for future Microsoft products and technologies.

MCTS candidate profile

MCTS candidates are capable of implementing, building, troubleshooting, and debugging a particular Microsoft technology.

Why get certified?

Earning a Microsoft Certification validates your proven experience and knowledge in using Microsoft products and solutions. Designed to be relevant in today's rapidly changing IT marketplace, Microsoft Certifications help you utilize evolving technologies, fine-tune your troubleshooting skills, and improve your job satisfaction.

Whether you are new to technology, changing jobs, or a seasoned professional, becoming certified demonstrates to customers, peers, and employers that you are committed to advancing your skills and taking on greater challenges. In addition, certification provides you with access to exclusive Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP) resources and benefits, including opportunities to connect with a vast, global network of MCPs.


Exam number                         Certification

Exam 70-6401                     MCTS: Windows Server 2008 Active Directory, Configuration

Exam 70-6421                     MCTS: Windows Server 2008 Network Infrastructure, Configuration

Exam 70-643                       MCTS: Windows Server 2008 Applications Infrastructure, Configuration

Exam 70-169                       MCTS: Windows Small Business Server 2011 Standard, Configuration

Exam 70-6532                     MCTS: Windows Small Business Server 2008, Configuration

Exam 70-654                       MCTS: Windows Essential Business Server 2008, Configuration

Exam 70-660                       MCTS: Windows Internals

Exam 70-691                       MCTS: Windows HPC Server 2008, Development

1This exam also counts towards the MCSA: Windows Server 2008 certification. For more information, visit the MCSA page.

2This exam retires on July 31, 2012.

Exam Fees - 80$ per paper

Quick Info

We are upgrading our site. Some pages may not show properly. Everything will be up and running soon. Please give us the feedback about new layout.